Bit of an iFeel round up here. So out now (I think) is the second IFeel Studio 12. You know the coup on this one if you are reading this. Its lovely music from across the water. Apparently an album is in the pipeline so we look forward to hearing more on that front.

IFeel Studio / Watching Stars Over The Rubicon Beltway
/ Soundcloud

IFeel Studio / Morgengruss III / Soundcloud

Also in IFeel news, together with Gatto Fritto and his Fritto Morto label, they are working on a joint release and first up is Gonna with a track called ‘ACDise #2’. All four tracks are belters. The main track is a hypnotic one that builds and builds, then there is another version from Swedish techno crew Skudge, a remix from Gatto Fritto himself and finally a lovely ambient track ‘Turn to Light’. It’s out September the 12th.

Finally there is another one of their super limited runs going by the ace name of Adventure Party. It’s fun time on the dancefloor and we love it. Keep your eyes peeled as I think its going to come and go pretty quickly. It’s out on the 22 August – 120 Hand Stamped Whites and then 30 special White Vinyl with lazer etching through LN-CC.

Adventure Party / Soundcloud

Test Pressing information service over and out.


This one is worth checking. An album played live with no midi and no samples heavily influenced by 70s library music from a team that have previously worked with Money Mark and Shaun Lee amongst others. It’ll be available to buy from your local online store, physical shops and of course at from the 29th of August. Right on.

I woke up far too early so I thought I’d try and get through this growing pile of releases that I promised to review. As I’ve said I’m not a journalist so I won’t try to be this Harvey album has had the whole – what is it called??? nu-disco? balearic? – let’s settle for disco at this hour… Anyway, it’s had the whole disco crew with money in hand. The 12’s released to date have been ‘Gunship’/’Little Boots’, ‘Tan Sedan’/’Throwdown’ and ‘I Want It’/’Next To You’.

The CD has the following tracklisting according to the press release:

1. Gunship
2. Little Boots
3. Gunship (Andrew Weatherall Remix)
4. I Want It
5. Throwdown
6. Bloodbath
7. Tan Sedan
8. Next To You
9. I Want It (Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas Remix)
10. Throwdown (Harvey’s Dub)
11. Little Boots (An Emperor Machine Special Edit Version)

So in essence this is a collection of the 12’s with additional versions from the massively good Emperor Machine (their version of ‘Little Boots’ being the perfect track to go out on), Weatherall, Harvey himself, and a new track in the form of ‘Bloodbath’ which I don’t think has been out before. I have to hold my hands up here and say I might have that massively wrong as it’s early but I think I’m right. Anyway, ‘Bloodbath’ is good. It’s a slow burner with a dubbed out guitar riff and fat synths that rolls along. Think soundtrack to a good f&cked up psyche movie. One of my favourite versions on the album is Harvey’s own dub of ‘Throwdown’. He drops the vocal and twists it all up dubbing it out and playing with the drums. According to the press release there will also be a hand stamped, Harvey designed white label (how do you design a white label?) of the alternate vocal Weatherall Remix of ‘Thickums’ and ‘Bloodbath’.

What can I say, you all know what this is all about. He takes disco in its various forms, sends it sideways through the f&ck machine and brings it our the other side via an Echoplex. And it works. It’s a good album. And one I hope that will take this music as a sound out to a wider audience as it got legs. I could imagine it sitting happily on Ze if it was still going which is high praise.

DJ Harvey Presents Locussolus / Locussolus is released on 13th June on International Feel.


Liking the look of these bags to celebrate the 4th anniversary of Claremont 56. Limited to a run of 50. You can get one here.


Bookmark and Share

%d bloggers like this: